Royal Enfield, Kathmandu, Nepal

This Royal Enfield motorcycle rental sign was in the tourist area of Thamel, Kathmandu. For British motorcyclists, India, Nepal and Thailand are excellent places to rent motorcycles – they drive on the same side of the road as us, only usually cost £3 or £4 a day, and in the right season the weather is ideal for two-wheeling.

I’ve also enjoyed a sport in Nepal that can best be described as motorcycle trekking – riding your rented motorcycle up mountain paths to the top. But don’t do what I did: I forgot that it also takes a long time to drive down again; after enjoying the most sublime sunset on top of the mountain, my passenger and I had 3 hours of downhill motorcycling to contend with …in the dark.

royalenfield-copy.jpg

Kathmandu, Nepal, April, 2002

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

~ by lovedubs on February 22, 2007.